Angebote zu "Prism" (5 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Silent Control: PRISM ist der Anfang. Silent Co...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Die Krise des globalen Wirtschaftssystems spitzt sich unerträglich zu. Die Mächtigen der Welt sind in Sorge um ihre Pfründe. Um die etablierten Machtstrukturen zu schützen, soll das Internet in bislang ungekannten Ausmaß überwacht und manipuliert werden. Doch den Verschwörern geht es um noch viel mehr: Neu entwickelte Hightech-Waffen sollen Gedankenkontrolle über die gesamte Weltbevölkerung ermöglichen! Ein junger schwedischer Hacker gerät durch die Entwicklung eines Computervirus ins Fadenkreuz der Verschwörer. Wer steckt tatsächlich hinter dem perfiden Plan, eine Technologie zu entwickeln die den Menschen willenlos macht? Einer Technologie der man offenbar nichts entgegensetzen kann? 1. Sprache: Deutsch. Erzähler: Matthias Lühn. Hörprobe: http://samples.audible.de/bk/klan/000014/bk_klan_000014_sample.mp3. Digitales Hörbuch im AAX Format.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The Man in the Crowd: A Fan´s Notes on Four Gen...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The celebrated author of The Game They Played offers a must-have memoir for Yankees fans. For Stanley Cohen, baseball is the prism through which he views the events of the last 70 years. In The Man in the Crowd, Cohen chronicles America’s changing mood and lifestyle from the years of World War II through the silent generation of the 50s, the revolutionary turmoil of the 60s through the social decay of the 70s, the excess of the 80s through the technological transformation of the 90s, up through the sobering uncertainty of the post- 9/11 present day. His narrative spans four generations as he recounts in sparkling prose how, for his immigrant father, sports was a means of assimilation into life in the New World; the warmth of watching his son and, later, his grandson both fall heir to his devotion; and how the game of baseball has provided his life with its truest sense of continuity. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Daniel Wallace. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/008792/bk_adbl_008792_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
An Emergency in Slow Motion: The Inner Life of ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Diane Arbus was one of the most brilliant and revered photographers in the history of American art. Her portraits, in stark black and white, seemed to reveal the psychological truths of their subjects. But after she committed suicide at the age of 48, the presumed chaos and darkness of her own inner life became, for many viewers, inextricable from her work. In the spirit of Janet Malcolm´s classic examination of Sylvia Plath, The Silent Woman, William Todd Schultz´s An Emergency in Slow Motion reveals the creative and personal struggles of Diane Arbus. Schultz, an expert in personality psychology, veers from traditional biography to look at Arbus´s life through the prism of five central mysteries: her childhood, her outcast affinity, her sexuality, her time in therapy, and her suicide. He seeks not to give Arbus some definitive diagnosis, but to ponder some of the private motives behind her public works and acts. In this approach, Schultz not only goes deeper into her life than any previous writing, but provides a template to think about the creative life in general. Schultz´s careful analysis is informed, in part, by the recent release of Arbus´s writing by her estate, as well as interviews with Arbus´s last therapist. An Emergency in Slow Motion combines new revelations and breathtaking insights into a must-listen psychobiography about a monumental artist - the first new look at Arbus in 25 years. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/009763/bk_adbl_009763_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The Start of Everything: A Novel , Hörbuch, Dig...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last minute. ´´If you don’t want to see me again, say so. But it’s not right to say nothing. It’s not right to go silent. You know what to do.´´ Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story. Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth - about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager - she may have to betray her partner. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sheila Burminham, Stephen Hoye. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/008263/bk_adbl_008263_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Odd Thomas , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 636min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The dead don´t talk. I don´t know why.´´ But they do try to communicate, with a short-order cook in a small desert town serving as their reluctant confidant. Odd Thomas thinks of himself as an ordinary guy, if possessed of a certain measure of talent at the Pico Mundo Grill and rapturously in love with the most beautiful girl in the world, Stormy Llewellyn. Maybe he has a gift, maybe it´s a curse, Odd has never been sure, but he tries to do his best by the silent souls who seek him out. Sometimes they want justice, and Odd´s otherworldly tips to Pico Mundo´s sympathetic police chief, Wyatt Porter, can solve a crime. Occasionally they can prevent one. But this time it´s different. A mysterious man comes to town with a voracious appetite, a filing cabinet stuffed with information on the world´s worst killers, and a pack of hyena-like shades following him wherever he goes. Who the man is and what he wants, not even Odd´s deceased informants can tell him. His most ominous clue is a page ripped from a day-by-day calendar for August 15. Today is August 14. In less than twenty-four hours, Pico Mundo will awaken to a day of catastrophe. As evil coils under the searing desert sun, Odd travels through the shifting prisms of his world, struggling to avert a looming cataclysm with the aid of his soul mate and an unlikely community of allies that includes the King of Rock ´n´ Roll. His account of two shattering days when past and present, fate and destiny converge is the stuff of our worst nightmares, and a testament by which to live: sanely if not safely, with courage, humor, and a full heart that even in the darkness must persevere. 1. Language: English. Narrator: David Aaron Baker. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/000345/bk_rand_000345_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot