Angebote zu "Prism" (5 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Silent Control 2 MP3-CDs
24,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Silent Control 2 MP3-CDs ab 24.99 € als MP3: PRISM ist der Anfang. Silent Control das Ziel. Lesung. Ungekürzte Ausgabe. Auflage. Aus dem Bereich: Hörbücher, Literarisches,

Anbieter: hugendubel
Stand: 10.12.2019
Zum Angebot
The Man in the Crowd: A Fan's Notes on Four Gen...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The celebrated author of The Game They Played offers a must-have memoir for Yankees fans. For Stanley Cohen, baseball is the prism through which he views the events of the last 70 years. In The Man in the Crowd, Cohen chronicles America’s changing mood and lifestyle from the years of World War II through the silent generation of the 50s, the revolutionary turmoil of the 60s through the social decay of the 70s, the excess of the 80s through the technological transformation of the 90s, up through the sobering uncertainty of the post- 9/11 present day. His narrative spans four generations as he recounts in sparkling prose how, for his immigrant father, sports was a means of assimilation into life in the New World; the warmth of watching his son and, later, his grandson both fall heir to his devotion; and how the game of baseball has provided his life with its truest sense of continuity. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Daniel Wallace. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/008792/bk_adbl_008792_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 10.12.2019
Zum Angebot
The Start of Everything: A Novel , Hörbuch, Dig...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last minute. "If you don’t want to see me again, say so. But it’s not right to say nothing. It’s not right to go silent. You know what to do." Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story. Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth - about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager - she may have to betray her partner. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sheila Burminham, Stephen Hoye. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/008263/bk_adbl_008263_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 10.12.2019
Zum Angebot
An Emergency in Slow Motion: The Inner Life of ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Diane Arbus was one of the most brilliant and revered photographers in the history of American art. Her portraits, in stark black and white, seemed to reveal the psychological truths of their subjects. But after she committed suicide at the age of 48, the presumed chaos and darkness of her own inner life became, for many viewers, inextricable from her work. In the spirit of Janet Malcolm's classic examination of Sylvia Plath, The Silent Woman, William Todd Schultz's An Emergency in Slow Motion reveals the creative and personal struggles of Diane Arbus. Schultz, an expert in personality psychology, veers from traditional biography to look at Arbus's life through the prism of five central mysteries: her childhood, her outcast affinity, her sexuality, her time in therapy, and her suicide. He seeks not to give Arbus some definitive diagnosis, but to ponder some of the private motives behind her public works and acts. In this approach, Schultz not only goes deeper into her life than any previous writing, but provides a template to think about the creative life in general. Schultz's careful analysis is informed, in part, by the recent release of Arbus's writing by her estate, as well as interviews with Arbus's last therapist. An Emergency in Slow Motion combines new revelations and breathtaking insights into a must-listen psychobiography about a monumental artist - the first new look at Arbus in 25 years. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Elizabeth Wiley. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/009763/bk_adbl_009763_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 10.12.2019
Zum Angebot